Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subject** CONFESSION WEDNESDAY **
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13420172
13420172, ** CONFESSION WEDNESDAY **
Posted by Geah, Wed Jan-13-21 12:16 AM
Zzzz
13420187, I'm not doing ok
Posted by MEAT, Wed Jan-13-21 09:36 AM
I was a manager at USPS when those pipe bombs came through.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/October_2018_United_States_mail_bombing_attempts

We were sitting in a meeting with the VP, she left to get a phone call, and then the news broke on CNN as we sat in that conference room just trying to figure out what was happening

And we did nothing

We set up meetings for the people on the floor if they needed someone to talk to, established talking points, coordinated with HQ to address the mail, but as people, humans, we did nothing for us. Just carried on.

That was a breaking point for me. It's just mail. But people's push to just be normal in the face of crisis bothers me. I'm not saying wilt, or become heroic, I just don't have the benefit of pretending that a situation I'm experiencing isn't happening.

And I've felt like that since last Wednesday. "When white America catches a cold, Black America catches pneumonia" And a group of white Americans just tried to overthrow the national government, and they're still planning to storm state houses. This is the worse it's been for white America in a LONG time and they're just pretending it's normal. And I'm burnt the hell out on checking white America's temperature to see if I need to run to the ER.
13420190, anyone acting like things are regular right now is off their fucking rocker
Posted by CherNic, Wed Jan-13-21 09:41 AM
I can't even pretend anymore. The past 10 months have been....almost impossible. The way this country has tried to normalized everything going on when we're living in an actual fucking nightmare?
13420194, I'm so behind at work. I keep incessantly refreshing the news