Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectBIM is now. I've been using BIM software for the past 8 years on my residential
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13415761&mesg_id=13418703
13418703, BIM is now. I've been using BIM software for the past 8 years on my residential
Posted by FLUIDJ, Tue Jan-05-21 04:06 PM
projects (private side business) and the majority of the projects on my day job have a dedicated BIM specification and requirement for implementation in the design process and we're moving towards the GC's that are awarded the final construction contract to also have a dedicated BIM team through the construction phase.

BIM reminds me of the transition from pencil & paper design to CAD...it took DECADES before CAD became the norm.... and we're only at the tip of BIM becoming the norm...

For instance...when I interned with a small firm in college (1995 - 1999) the owner was super ANTI CAD....like...he'd get angry for even mentioning it. So I spent the majority of my time there doing drawings on velum with pencil & inking with rapidographs and then running blueprints...this was already considered to be a somewhat "old school" work flow even in the late 90s'.... mind you..I'd learned AutoCAD in HIGH SCHOOL...so it was kinda weird reverting back to drawing by hand...but I'm glad I did...
Fast Forward to early 2000's and there were STILL major firms that only used AutoCAD as a "tool" in the process but not the primary way to execute a project.... Autodesk was already experimenting with parametric in their software and Revit was a small startup....
Fast Forward again....Autodesk buys Revit and starts ramping up BIM workflow along with a lot of other companies in the mix and forming what BIM is and should be......
Meanwhile...there are a LOT of firms JUST NOW...learning what BIM even is...

So with that said...if you're interested in BIM...now is the time to get on board....