Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectNah. I'm not missing anything lol. The math doesn't work out in Bernie's
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13354635&mesg_id=13357280
13357280, Nah. I'm not missing anything lol. The math doesn't work out in Bernie's
Posted by kfine, Mon Nov-25-19 06:42 PM
>I'm not an expert by any means on this funding but I think
>the big thing you are missing is what is referred to as
>maintenance of effort funding which already exists and brings
>the needed NEW revenue way down. From this great article
>https://www.peoplespolicyproject.org/2019/10/30/how-to-approach-medicare-for-all-financing/
> "The first thing you do is bring in existing spending on
>Federal Health Programs and State Health Programs, the latter
>through a maintenance of effort requirement. That gets you
>$1.761 trillion.
>
>Then you can assume that Other Private ($0.308 trillion)
>remains the same, getting you to $2.069 trillion."
>
>Sorry that I also linked Bernie's old financing document, the
>2019 one is here
>https://www.sanders.senate.gov/download/medicare-for-all-2019-financing?id=860FD1B9-3E8A-4ADD-8C1F-0DEDC8D45BC1&download=1&inline=file
>

favor and yall try to obfuscate that by playing down the ambiguity in your numbers and focusing almost exclusively on persuasion and information warfare. It's not that hard.

First of all, neither the financing proposal you linked before or the updated one you link here make any mention of State Maintenance of Effort. And, even if they did, it wouldnt close the gap in funding between $16T and $30T. Under current law State spending is like less than 10% of annual National Health Expenditure, or roughly 0.3T-0.4T (lazy math, but consistent with what Bruenig mentions in your link). So over 10y, State Maintenance of Effort helps Bernie raise "maybe" a few more trillion. Not enough.