Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectI'm a mathematical physicist.
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13316337&mesg_id=13316536
13316536, I'm a mathematical physicist.
Posted by stravinskian, Wed Feb-27-19 02:53 PM
Astrophysicist more precisely, and a college professor.

>Any recommendations on sources/links/whatever for someone that
>doesn't have a scientific background?

I don't know that there's really even a source to follow nowadays. The science is totally, completely settled. All that goes on now is fretting over the fact that a certain political party is in the business of ignoring the science.

For a long time I followed this blog:

realclimate.org

It still appears to be pretty active. I liked it because it's run by working academic climate scientists who know the situation as well as anyone else in the world. It still appears to be run by the same people, so I can only assume it's as good a source as ever, at least with respect to what little is going on these days.

I was watching it around the time of the IPCC report and all the controversy over the "hockey stick graph." They explained it all and cleared away the misinformation better than anyone I'd ever seen.

>Also, to really sum up your opinion- your preferred option is
>Nuclear energy?

Not exactly. Nuclear is a necessary ingredient of anything I'd take seriously. If someone is reflexively against nuclear it's a strong cue that they aren't taking the problem seriously.