Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectI'm willing to bet his character reacted to college like I did
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13239060&mesg_id=13243866
13243866, I'm willing to bet his character reacted to college like I did
Posted by Nodima, Mon Mar-19-18 10:37 AM
I didn't go to anything prestigious, but I chose the state school because I wanted to go to the football games. I didn't think about my living situation or how I'd react to being away from home or how interested I was in the campus culture or whether I'd want to meet anybody new; I just picked the school because I wanted to get cheap tickets to football.

Unlike Earn I was a slacker ass student but I definitely had potential; I was 1 point away from an ACT score that'd have earned me a full ride so I ran off with a bunch of grants and low-interest loans. But college just wasn't for me, I hated the culture I was surrounded by and the friends I kept mostly stayed making the situation feel weird, like I was missing something or didn't get something fundamental about the experience. Wound up meeting some trapper dude that lived near a fraternity party house and rather than go to class, I just turned that semester into the only period of my life I ever professionally sold drugs then moved back home to city college (and that's a whole other story).