Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectOkParents: Back to school expectations
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=12877957
12877957, OkParents: Back to school expectations
Posted by JellyBean, Wed Aug-12-15 09:54 AM
So, this is my first year sending a wee-one to school. I'm so excited. I don't know what to expect!

What are you expecting this year with your mini-mes?

Elementary school parents? increased reading skills? better vocabulary? stronger math skills?

Middle school parents? stronger math? learning a foreign language? history? jv sports?

High school parents? college prep? SAT/ACT/ASVAB? varsity sports? prom? homecoming? driver's ed?
12877959, she going to preschool or kindergarten?
Posted by KiloMcG, Wed Aug-12-15 09:55 AM
12877972, preschool
Posted by JellyBean, Wed Aug-12-15 10:01 AM
because her bday is in November...I'm hoping they move her up to kindergarten lol, in my overly biased opinion she is ready...

what about your lil guy?
12878024, another year of preschool. similar boat as you with the bday.
Posted by KiloMcG, Wed Aug-12-15 10:32 AM
his is in october, just 4 days after the cutoff. he's probably ready, but we're not going to push it to start kindergarten this year. we see some advantages of being one of, if not the, oldest kid in his class vs. being the youngest.

be prepared for tons of cuteness as you drop off, pick up and participate in activities/events at school.
12878044, I'm not sure I'm ready
Posted by JellyBean, Wed Aug-12-15 10:41 AM
I'll probably cry in the car...

I just don't want her to get bored, you know? I don't want her to be that kid who is a know-it-all and then becomes a trouble maker because she's "already done this before"...my baby is a talker lol
12878078, yeah, i definitely did on his first 1st day. haha
Posted by KiloMcG, Wed Aug-12-15 11:05 AM
>I'll probably cry in the car...
>

>I just don't want her to get bored, you know? I don't want