Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectthere are entire homeschool conferences and leagues.
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=12730604&mesg_id=12730653
12730653, there are entire homeschool conferences and leagues.
Posted by poetx, Wed Feb-18-15 03:44 PM
i coach a JV / Varsity girls high school team (on which my middle daughter, a freshman, plays). and i'm an assistant coach on the Varsity boys' team.

we play through a collective, umbrella organization. sometimes that is a general organization that exists to support homeschool parents and students. other times one is created solely for sports (my kids used to belong to a homeschool band which was one of those independent entities).

in our case, in NC, there are teams spanning the state, with an eastern and western conference, and divisions among them.

in terms of organization and competition, it's akin to charter or private schools.

for example, my girls team, which is freshmen and sophomores, was JV in conference, but we played up at the varsity level non-conference. we have played 27 games, thus far, and have regional tournament this week and states next week. we were 6-0 in conference, 10-1 as a jv team overall, and 15-12 including varsity games, which included other homeschool teams as well as local charter and private schools.

there is also a post season tournament we'll be playing in with 100 teams (total, across all age divisions) from the midwest to up and down the east coast. teams will be there from georgia, nc, sc, nj, ny, md, ia, in, tn, etc.

there will be scouts from div 1 through 3.

my son, who is a re-classed sophomore, is starting for the 2nd year on varsity. he is in the process of getting looks. he also plays AAU (and my middle daughter was invited to come back to AAU) in the off-season with, and against some of the best players in the area and state.