Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectFormer JPC employee speaks out (swipe):
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=12708137&mesg_id=12708824
12708824, Former JPC employee speaks out (swipe):
Posted by Castro, Sun Jan-25-15 11:35 PM
The Fire Sale at Johnson Publishing Company Feels Like Karma

By Six Brown Chicks, today at 2:10 am
The Fire Sale at Johnson Publishing Company Feels Like Karma
Linda Johnson Rice handles some of the archived photos at Johnson Publishing. The Publisher of Ebony magazines is selling its historic photos. (Nancy Stone, Chicago Tribune)
by Zondra Hughes

When I read the Chicago Tribune article about Johnson Publishing Company selling its storied archive of African American images with the hope of getting $40 million (that’s about $8 per image, thanks Luvvie), I immediately thought of Hurricane Katrina.

In 2005, I was an Associate Editor at Ebony magazine. At that time, I was tasked with producing the monthly Beauty & Style feature, a story on campus fashions.

We were working on the 60th anniversary issue of Ebony, so instead of using models and shooting the story in-house, myself and a photographer were assigned to travel to the picturesque campus of Dillard University and to use actual students for the shoot.

We traveled to New Orleans in late June.

The photographer and I spent two days in the sweltering heat, styling the unpaid student models and photographing them in various areas on Dillard’s campus. On our last day, we gave the students our business cards and thanked them for their time. SEE the photos here.

That August, Hurricane Katrina struck Dillard University leaving more than $300 million in damages in its wake. One of the Dillard University student coordinators (who worked with us to organize the photo shoot) called me at work and asked for help.

Several of the young women that we photographed were stranded at a shelter, and they needed assistance.