Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Activist Archives
Topic subjectRE: It goes deeper than that
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=22&topic_id=30834&mesg_id=30864
30864, RE: It goes deeper than that
Posted by Nettrice, Thu May-12-05 11:37 AM
>I believe there ARE voices within academia that subvert the
>traditional canon, but indeed their faculties are marginalised
>(even scoffed at) both within and outside the university
>system. I'm ashamed to admit it, but I now feel embarrassed
>telling people I studied culture at university.

Don't be embarrassed. It's the faculty who are unwilling to recognize this who should be embarrassed.

>>That's
>>40+ years of conditioning that starts when kids first enter
>>the outside world, as students. This world gets larger as
>we
>>grow but not the first lessons.
>
>
>I accept this. There is always going to be a certain
>disparity. However, are black males and white males (for
>example) not conditioned in similar ways, in terms of class
>and gender?