Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Activist Archives
Topic subjectJust a lil research...go 'head...
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=22&topic_id=226&mesg_id=298
298, Just a lil research...go 'head...
Posted by Mau777, Sun Aug-08-04 12:37 PM
...Not only into military archives, but cultural ones as well.

>
>Did they know how many was killed? No. But they did know
>that the cities were in shambles? Yes. Did they know
>people were killed in large numbers? Yes.
>
>>The American lives lost were ALL military lives. None
>>civilian.
>
>SO WHAT? Does that mean they are supposed to be expendible?

Hiroshima and Nagasaki were civilian cities.

>
>You're right; I have no military experience, or any kind in
>which my life was on the line. But I think I'm honest in
>saying that if I were, the last life I would be concerned
>about is the life that's trying to end mine.

So the men, women and children of Hiroshima and Nagasaki were trying to end the lives of Americans. Yeah...okay. And I know you don't think the U.S. was cornered when they dropped those bombs do you? Quite the opposite.

>
>You're right. My family doesn't deserve that. Nor did
>other families in Japan.

This is the point and why the original poster asked the question. Did the people of Hiro. and Naga. deserve that. Was that truly neccessary? No, they didn't and no, it wasn't.

>
>But we aren't talking about who deserves what. We are
>talking about what was done in order to end the war and the
>steps taken in lieu to it by both parties. Cherry-picking
>who shouldn't have died is a waste of time, and it's
>ignoring the simple fact that more people - and particularly
>more Americans, which was, and should be, the main factor -
>would have died had we not dropped that bomb than if we had.