Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Activist Archives
Topic subjectRE: always keep yr eyes
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=22&topic_id=11689&mesg_id=11751
11751, RE: always keep yr eyes
Posted by cued, Sat Sep-22-01 06:25 PM
I wanted to tell you something.

I have been smoking for four years now. It started when my mother kicked me out... for being a fag... but the story is a lot more complex than that. I came out to her when she was engaged to this dude named John who told her that he was breaking things off because I made him feel uncomfortable. Although she later found out he was sleeping with someone else, it stuck and so out of her fear that their was a drop of truth to it, she wanted to keep me away from her new relationship "the one" and I got the shaft in the form of a letter telling me not to come home a week before I was supposed to go home.

While I was playing around with smoking around that time, after that summer, which was so hard and rough, it became a mainstay.

Now, four years later on the otherside of that reality, I am looking at it and realizing, that I should indeed quit. It has screwed up my voice just minorly, but what has it done to my body?! And as a coping mechanism, it ain't really doing shit anymore... not to mention smoking in dry-assed Tucson just hurts your throat even more.

Although people have lauded me on my ability to feel, I consider myself a thinker as my mind and body are quite connected. However, to make such a decision would take an agreement between the two. My body is all like: Stop putting that shit in me, damnit! As my throat swells from the natural allergic reaction I have to smoking. However, my mind was all like: But I need to keep calm or else people will treat me funny and I don't wanna be treated funny... and I _DON'T_ wanna gain weight.