Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Sports Archives
Topic subjectclearly u dont-I wouldnt either if the last 4 were JuJuan/Sully/Fab/Kris
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=21&topic_id=107474&mesg_id=107609
107609, clearly u dont-I wouldnt either if the last 4 were JuJuan/Sully/Fab/Kris
Posted by Bombastic, Wed May-08-13 04:42 PM
>and maybe he'll be a total fucking disaster.
>
>the point is that he's worked in a front office for ten years,
>including three as an assistant GM.

is that the point?

because Lance 'Shootin' Blanks, the bum they just tossed from the job had ten years or more, five with the Spurs & then five with the Cavs as 'Assistant GM'.

You or I have zero years experience but I bet both would have made better draft choices than the Sixers did over the past 25 years.

Stop acting like they're breaking atoms in there.

then he got hired as a GM.
>if i was hiring someone to be a general manager, background in
>scouting and, oh, being an assistant general manager would
>look nice on a resume. they're a team that's going to rebuild
>through the draft and that's his expertise, apparently.
>
>why on earth would grant hill, who was playing pro ball this
>season, be more qualified than someone who was AN ASSISTANT
>GENERAL MANAGER?

Why would Jerry West, Larry Bird or Danny Ainge be better at this job than Lance Blanks, Kevin Pritchard or Larry Harris?

is there even another example of a player who
>went from active to being in charge of trades, signing and
>contracts without any experience whatsoever?
>
there's plenty of guys that went into head coaching & GM slots without experience, yes, including several great ones.

But you're so hung up on the fact that he played in 26 games this season for 15 minutes per that somehow that eliminates his ability to evaluate the league he was playing (mostly sitting/watching much like the whole middle of his career) in for the past two decades.

That's funny to me.