Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Artist Archives
Topic subjectMarketing Idea
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=19&topic_id=4459&mesg_id=4680
4680, Marketing Idea
Posted by from_me_to_u, Tue Feb-24-04 10:52 AM
I'm currently a marketing student at Ryerson University (Toronto, Canada) and I really believe that there was a real business sense to the way you guys gained exposure, promoted your product and parlayed that into a major record label and turned yourself into a big league producer in the industry. All on a shoestring budget no less. For that I must tip my hat to ya'll. With that being said I wanted to pitch an idea I had which I felt would be perfect for you guys. Please feel free to use it or even better criticize it. As a student of the trade, it's the only way I can learn and perfect the theory all these teachers stuff in my head.

The premise: Mass Customization of Music which can be used for Retail Albums, Production Projects. Mixtapes or Exclusive Web downloaded paid content (LittleBrother.Com, Napster, Itunes).

The idea: Yourself/LB's would set up a area on Okayplayer or on your artist page and ask your fans to vote on an array of samples you've cleared, know you can clear or personally are a fan of. For those who aren't "crate diggers", you would also provide a "real audio" clip so they can hear the original song and imagine what can possibly be done with the ‘break’.