Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Artist Archives
Topic subjectAnte up........
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=19&topic_id=37829&mesg_id=37965
37965, Ante up........
Posted by GodHour, Tue Apr-18-06 02:44 PM
I'm an official OKP Hater. And it's not just the brand of music, because OKP represents many of my favorite artists. It's not just the fact that back in the mid to late 90's--when most of the OKP artists start seeing some real shine--it just so happened that 80% of the audiences at these artists' live shows couldn't possibly represent or repsect "the struggle". I don't hate on OKP because I'm a starving artist who just can't seem to get down. Nor am I an obsessed fan with no real outlet besides the internet to satisfy my need to "belong". The reason I hate OKP is because it has-- as does mostly every other entity that attaches itself to my people--become a rapist. I hate OKP for the same reason I hate Def Jam, MTV, BET, Radio 1 and mostly all other VIACOM subsidiaries. Anywhere a mf like Talib Kweli can get this much hate on his own site is somewhere I don't think I need to be. Do you really think people are on laffytaffyplayer.com or demfranchiseboysplayer.com disrespecting those artists? This shit is ridiculous, because I don't have most of you that have disrespected both M1 and Kweli saying any of that to their faces. And I realize that is one of the cons that comes along with the internet, but yabasa (sp)!!...lol. Seriously, I was a PA on Dead Prez' first video (well actually my girl at the time was working wardrobe, but being PA...that's the lie I tell people) and I hated on those kids. Musically, I didn't get it. I'm a traditional head-nod nigga and they just didn't move me. At first glance, I thought they were just some down south cats that caught some culture from an HBCU or somewhere and blew because they was spittin' pseudo-knowledge to a fanbase that obviously had no cultural or revolutionary exposure. As I list