Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion Archives
Topic subjectTHE DIFFICULT POST ABOUT RACE (anchor requested).
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=18&topic_id=53237&mesg_id=53237
53237, THE DIFFICULT POST ABOUT RACE (anchor requested).
Posted by DarkStar, Fri Jul-01-05 08:06 AM
This is something I've been wanting to do for YEARS on this board. That's why it's so long, and it's why I hope that you take a moment to read it all.

I've been drafting and rewriting this post for about six months. Considering the fact that I have few peers in GD, I feel that I have nothing to lose in initiating such a post. I do not feel that this post is stupid, or that it should be deleted by whoever-doesn't-like-me. I do NOT feel that it's a waste of time. I will NOT field questions about my motives. Heckles will go ignored.

The purpose of this post is not to experiment with anyone's viewpoints in hopes of confirming any selfish ideas I may have about the subject at hand. Rather, it is geared towards sparking something that some of us don't really feel equipped to initiate: genuine and unselfish conversation about this race thing between black OKP's and white OKP's. (I have no desire to exclude OKP's of other racial backgrounds from this, but I feel that it's a must that the two LOUDEST and most opinionated groups of people on this board attempt to engage in discussion, ask the questions that no one wants to ask and at least TRY to get some genuine understanding. Because the LOT of us must inhabit this small, cramped country for as long as possible without killing each other--and I'm sure you'll agree that this shit's getting ridiculous.)