Go back to previous topic
Forum nameHigh-Tech
Topic subjectSchool Me on Secure Login (PHP, of course)
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=11&topic_id=162126
162126, School Me on Secure Login (PHP, of course)
Posted by alexthezombie, Wed Aug-27-08 06:35 AM
Okay so I'm trying to make my login script a tad more secure then just setting cookies and calling it a day.

I've been looking at using SESSIONS (the way I should have been doing it from the beginning), but I'm unclear on the difference between SESSIONs and COOKIEs as far as security.

Also, I mean, should my script just poll the database for an entry with a matching email, check the password and then set the session values??

Oh and as for storing password... MD5 encryption the way to go?
162153, RE: School Me on Secure Login (PHP, of course)
Posted by tdogg1191, Wed Aug-27-08 11:16 AM
I'm no PHP expert, but I do have some experience with it.

I believe that the difference between sessions and cookies is that seesions are stored on the server, and cookies are stored on the user's machine.

"Also, I mean, should my script just poll the database for an entry with a matching email, check the password and then set the session values??"
--Yes

"Oh and as for storing password... MD5 encryption the way to go?"
--I've used SHA1 (http://us3.php.net/sha1). Not sure if one is better than the other.

-----------------------------
There is no such thing as coincidence, just the illusion of coincidence itself.

My Site: http://trevordavis.net/
162187, I think generally you assign the user a session ID when they login
Posted by Nopayne, Wed Aug-27-08 01:45 PM
they pass this ID to the server on every page load (either via a cookie, a querystring parameter, or some other means). The session ID is used to lookup the user's info on the server side. This way, you're not passing around sensitive info on ever page load. You're just passing around an ID which is generally just a random number.