Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend
Lobby Organix topic #1581

Subject: "OKSangha - Do you meditate? If so, how is your practice going?" Previous topic | Next topic
obsidianchrysalis
Member since Jan 29th 2003
5770 posts
Fri May-20-16 03:26 PM

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"OKSangha - Do you meditate? If so, how is your practice going?"

I've been meditating for a while - on and off for fifteen years. Some of that time I would use different visualization techniques, but now I mostly practice mindfulness meditation.

I had a minor health scare about three months ago and then increased the frequency of my sessions and the length of each session;meditating every day for at least 25 minutes and on some days another 35 minutes session in the evening.

The results have been really positive. My chronic anxieties have lessened and psychosomatic discomfort in my body has decreased as well.

But my practice hasn't always been as disciplined. Some months I would skip whole weeks, so I definitely empathize with the struggles to sit.

So if you do meditate, feel free to share or if you have questions, list them here.

Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Topic Outline
Subject Author Message Date ID
No one here meditates?
Sep 10th 2016
I do christian meditation. I'm somewhat happy with it.
Sep 16th 2016
Do you mean 'centering prayer'?
Sep 19th 2016
      I suppose some people who do christian meditation do it like they are
Sep 19th 2016
           The description you gave is known as centering prayer.
Sep 21st 2016
                Not according to the link you sent
Sep 22nd 2016
                     My bad
Sep 25th 2016

obsidianchrysalis
5770 posts
Sat Sep-10-16 11:59 PM