Go back to previous topic
Forum nameOkay Sports
Topic subjectBattered Woman Syndrome: Elissa exhibited some of the traits...
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=8&topic_id=2657342&mesg_id=2681178
2681178, Battered Woman Syndrome: Elissa exhibited some of the traits...
Posted by Creole, Fri Dec-07-18 10:16 AM
It seems very plausible that she would have lied to keep him out of trouble. I don't think it makes her a terrible person at all. I don't think Reuben is a terrible person either. Dude may be, as many of us are, flawed and in need of some serious help but I can't agree that he's terrible.

I'm no lawyer but I learned about BWS in a high school law class that i took. I was assigned the role of the defense attorney who had to defend a woman who killed her husband after years of abuse. My defense was to be based on this syndrome.

In the end, I'm hopeful that the two of them receive the help and treatment they need to help keep them out of situations like this in the future.

https://www.healthline.com/health/battered-woman-syndrome#how-it-develops

How does it develop?
Battered woman syndrome is caused by sustained and serious domestic abuse.

Domestic abuse typically follows an extremely predictable cycle, as follows:

The abuser will win over the new partner, often moving quickly into a relationship with tactics like “love-bombing,” grand romantic gestures, and pressuring for commitment early.
The abuser will be emotionally or physically abusive. This often starts small, like a slap instead of a punch, or punching the wall next to their partner.
The abuser will feel guilty, swearing they’ll never do it again, and be overtly romantic to win their partner over.
There will be a temporary “honeymoon” period, where the abuser is on their best behavior, luring their partner into thinking that they’re safe and things really will be different.
Abuse occurs, starting the cycle all over again.