Go back to previous topic
Forum nameGeneral Discussion
Topic subjectI need to get it together
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=4&topic_id=13005940&mesg_id=13021561
13021561, I need to get it together
Posted by MeshaMeesh, Sat May-14-16 10:45 AM
For those that don't know, I came into college as a Music Industry major. I'm now Music Studies because I HATE this major and the Music Studies option required fewer music classes (from different areas of study, such as technology, business, theory, and random stuff).

I am NOT a musician by far. I don't play anything, I can't sing, and after 3 years of theory, I still don't know it.

I wanted to do Music because I had an interest in working with artists and becoming an A&R or having my own studio or label eventually. I lost that interest because it just seems like this field isn't a good match for my personality. Honestly, I'm very timid, introverted, and anxious and I really have bad vibes about this stuff.

So that's the story about my dilemma. So here's something new:

I'm planning on minoring in Human Rights & Genocide Studies for my final (5th) year of college.

It's another story as to why I'm here another year but most of it is because I suffered a deep depression and developed sever anxiety last year, that caused a bunch of chaos and time off from school. I also have a bunch of health issues...

The minor will only require 4 more classes since I took one of the class requirements this semester. Boom - no big deal. Even if I wasn't going to do the minor, I still would've had to stay an extra year to finish my 3 gen eds, one music class req, and electives.

But nooowwwww.... going back to the whole "I hate my major" thing: I had a spark of interest in just adding a major, International Studies, so I can have a double major of Music & International Studies and the minor in Human Rights & Genocide.