Go back to previous topic
Forum nameMake The Music
Topic subjectI got an Mpc. Any Advice?
Topic URLhttp://board.okayplayer.com/okp.php?az=show_topic&forum=26&topic_id=32642
32642, I got an Mpc. Any Advice?
Posted by ToneNice, Mon Dec-10-07 03:49 PM
Yeah So I got a deal on MPC 2000. After years of djing and collecting records I'm ready to play around with this here sampler. Any of you more experianced heads gotta any tips for my clean slate? Like is there some shit you wish somebody would've hipped you when you got started. Let me know something.
32643, RE: I got an Mpc. Any Advice?
Posted by Dawhud, Mon Dec-10-07 04:19 PM
Don't do 45 soul samples. (high pitched soul vocals)

Other than that it'll take a minute before you find your sound. Just, make beats, make beats, make beats. I've been making beats for a long time (96-97) and I'm still learning. Also you might want to get a program like Acid or Protools for tracking all your ish. (but that depends on how serious you want to get into it. Software is a double-edged sword, but you can do a lot of ish to your beats with it. Nowdays I make the foundation of my beats on the hardware (EPS, MPC or SP1200) track them in Acid and fill them out in that program.
32644, Thanks for your response
Posted by ToneNice, Mon Dec-10-07 05:01 PM
Yeah I hear you on the soul samples, what's that saying about a dead hoarse? hahah. Anyways yeah I was planning on dumping beats in Adobe Audition to sequence them and add cuts etc. I've never really messed with software....I gotta figure out this machine first before I hope into anything else.
32654, RE: Thanks for your response
Posted by Dawhud, Mon Dec-10-07 09:14 PM